Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator: A Guide to Get Started

The rise of cybercrimes beyond computers and the evolution of cybersecurity has made it essential to employ a Digital Forensics expert within an organization. It is crucial to not only trace hackers who are behind an attack, but also to prevent future attacks. It is essential to understand the potential threats and how to address them. Many companies have realized the importance and growing demand for digital investigators.
According to forecasts, the digital forensics market will reach a staggering 9,684.5 billion dollars by 2022. This is due to the increasing demand for digital forensics specialists in highly regulated industries. A team of CHFI-certified professionals will help your organization prevent cyber-attacks, and comply with the IT rules set forth by the government.
A digital forensics expert should have a broad range of skills and attributes. Digital forensic professionals need to be proficient in skills such as log analysis, end-point data collection and dark web monitoring. They also need to be able to analyze malware and gather threat intelligence. Basic knowledge of IT and phone networks is also a must. It is important to have a working knowledge of digital forensic tools like EnCase, ProDiscover, and Access Data FTK.
It is not enough to be able to use different forensic tools. An investigator in Digital Forensics must have a keen eye for detail. Forensics is about connecting the dots. As an investigator, you must have an eye for the trail that leads to the hacker. Investigators must adhere to confidentiality rules and keep confidential data private.
This is a challenging position, but it can be achieved with the right certifications and guidance.
What is the CHFI Certification?
The EC Council offers the Computer Hacking Forensic Investigators Certification (CHFI). This certification accredits one as having a solid command over digital forensic principles – the skillset needed to play the role.
The CHFI Exam is vendor-neutral and covers all major investigation technologies and other solutions in forensic. This is important because it gives you the opportunity to work in many areas and allows you to be flexible, as opposed to being restricted by a narrow specialization. This course enhances your skills in ethical hacking, penetration test, verification frauds or corruption, as well as your security knowledge to adapt and keep up with the changing cybersecurity science.
Exam on Computer Hacking for Forensic Investigators
There are some eligibility requirements for the CHFI Exam. Candidates must have completed instructor-led training or academic learning through an EC Council Authorized Training Centre. Candidates without any training may also be required to show at least two years’ experience in Information Security.
All CHFI Exam candidates must pass a four-hour proctored exam that includes 150 multiple-choice questions. The cut scores range from 60% to 80%. To be certified, the candidate must meet these requirements. This certification must be renewed every three years. To stay current with the latest cybersecurity science, credits can be earned through EC-Council Continued Education.
The 6 domains of a CHFI exam
The exam covers six main domains.
Forensic Science- The 15% exam focuses on computer forensics and the objectives and requirements. It tests your knowledge of web applications, cybercrimes, investigation methods, and web server attacks.
Regulations, Policies and Ethics – This section focuses on the search and seizing of computers with or without a warrant, laws and acts against email crime, and finally, general ethics while testifying.
Digital Evidence- This exam covers 20%. It tests one’s knowledge of electronic evidence types, rules, and how they are used.
Procedures and Methodology – This covers the evidence examination process and data acquisition and duplication. Network forensics is also covered. It also explains the role of the first responder.
Digital Forensics – This covers 25% and deals with data recovery and steganography, image forensics and steganalysis.
Knowledge of tools/systems/programs- This includes windows forensics, data acquisition, network security, cloud, and malware forensics tools.

Why choose NetCom Learning to obtain CHFI certification
The CHFI certification course is designed to help you improve your password cracking skills.